Cranberry Candied Jalapenos

Cranberry Cowboy Candy!

I was making a batch of the infamous cowboy candy today. These recipes are famous and all over the internet. Since I was experimenting with the Cranberry Jalapeno Jam I had a revalation. WHAT would cowboy candy with the tartness of cranberries be like?

And. My friends. My dear beloved friends. I fell in love. Deeply in love. And now you can to.

Your welcome.

I started with the basic Cowboy Candy recipe but I did omit the garlic, turmeric and spices that often go with it. I sliced 3 pounds of jalapenos, leaving the seeds in them. You can remove the seeds for less heat.

IMG_20131117_085645_174

Then I boiled 2 cups apple cider vinegar and 6 cups sugar for five minutes to get it nice and syrupy. I added my peppers and cooked for five more minutes. I then added two cups of cranberries to the pot and cooked this for ten minutes to let all the flavors really combine. This let the cranberries plump up but they did not split or separate.

IMG_20131117_100919_169

Does that look wonderful? Amazing? Shocking? Make you wanna scream it from the rooftops amazing?

Then, I removed the peppers and cranberries and put these into hot jars.

IMG_20131117_101219_675

I cranked the heat up and hard boiled the syrup for five minutes until it was a thicker syrupy consistency. Then pour your boiling hot syrup over your cranberries and peppers.

Cry because it is so good. Or give it out as Christmas Presents. The syrup is such a beautiful red color!

Remove air bubbles, wipe your rims, don’t lick your fingers until later, then process in a boiling water bath for 15 minutes.

Cranberry Candied Jalapenos

3 pounds Jalapenos

2 cups cranberries

2 cups apple cider vinegar

6 cups sugar

Combine sugar and vinegar, simmer for five full minutes. Add Jalapenos and simmer five more minutes. Add your cranberries and simmer another ten minutes. Place your cranberries and Jalapenos into hot pint or half pint jars. Boil the remaining syrup hard, for five minutes. Pour this over the top of your cranberry Jalapeno mix with 1/2 inch headspace.  Remove air pockets, wipe rims, place caps and rings. Process in Boiling Water Bath for 15 minutes.  This made 4 pints.

Leave a Reply

